AAD Cochrane Scholarship

This award program is founded on the goal of expanding the training in—and reach of—evidence-based medicine in dermatology.  

Date and location: The 2019 Cochrane Colloquium will take place Oct. 22-25, 2019, Santiago, Chile.

Award: Two annual award recipients will receive a travel grant of up to $4,500 to attend the 2019 Cochrane Colloquium. Upon return from the meeting, award recipients will be required to develop a systematic review in a dermatology area that will support AAD clinical guideline development, or update and highlight areas for future dermatologic basic and clinical research. This review will also be submitted for consideration of publication in JAAD and should be completed within 12-18 months following the colloquium.

Awardees will also be introduced to the Cochrane Skin Group to internationally network with other individuals committed to developing systematic reviews related to dermatology.

  • Submit applications for the 2019 Scholarship by Jan. 7, 2019.
  • The Clinical Guidelines Committee will select two awardees.
  • Awardees will be notified April 2019.


For questions or more information, please contact Toyin Lamina at TLamina@aad.org or (847) 240-1464.

  • Eligibility requirements
    • US/Canadian AAD members and residents
    • Only one lifetime receipt of award
  • Submission requirements

    Fill out the online submission form.

    The form requires applicants to answer the following questions:

    • What prior experience or training do you have with systematic reviews?
    • What prior experience or training do you have with statistics and evidence-based medicine?
    • Have you previously attended a Cochrane meeting? If so which ones?
    • Why are you interested in attending this Cochrane meeting?
    • What subject areas or topics are you interested in reviewing if you receive this award?

    Include the following material with the form submission:

    • Letter of recommendation/support (if resident/fellow application this should be from the Program Director).
    • Listing of peer-reviewed publications (or CV).
    • Current AAD Conflict of Interest Disclosure on record.

  • Past recipients

    Annie Langley, MD, MSc
    Audrey Jacobsen, MD, MPH

    Peter Shumaker, MD
    Kachiu Lee, MD 

    Jerry Brewer, MD
    Cathryn Sibbald, MD

    Hadar Lev-Tov, MD, MAS
    William W. Huang, MD, MPH

    Esther Freeman, MD, PhD
    Peggy Wu, MD, MPH