Marion B. Sulzberger, MD, Memorial Award and Lectureship

In 1983, Mr. Murray Gruber established a lectureship to be administered by the AAD. 

Award: The selected lecturer will receive a cash award of $10,000 and present a lecture during the Plenary session at the Academy's Annual Meeting.


  • The recipient should have made significant contributions to the understanding of clinical medicine via his or her basic research.
  • The recipient should be younger, rather than older, and should still be actively engaged in clinically important basic investigation.
  • The recipient should have proven ability as a communicator, both verbal and written.

  • About Dr. Sulzberger

    Born in 1895, Marion Baldur Sulzberger was the son of the owner of one of the largest international meat-packing firms in the world. An early scholar, Dr. Sulzberger was a fan of the Latin languages and spoke German, Spanish and French. He worked numerous odd jobs before becoming an aviator in the U.S. Naval Service during World War I.

    After serving with the Navy during World War I, Dr. Sulzberger began his medical studies in 1920 in Geneva, Switzerland, and continued his education at the University of Zurich.

    Back in the military during World War II, Dr. Sulzberger served with the Naval Reserve as a lieutenant commander. He became decorated by both the United States and France for outstanding research and study of the treatment of dermatoses caused by poison gases, burns and tropical skin diseases.

    Professor and chairman at New York University-Bellevue Medical Center, and later professor of clinical dermatology at the University of California in San Francisco, Dr. Sulzberger was also adviser to the U.S. Government, founder of the Society for Investigative Dermatology and president of the American Dermatological Association.

  • Application timeline

    Nominations submitted on or before January 15 will be included in the selection cycle for current year. Nominations submitted after January 15 will be held for the following cycle. Nominations remain active in the selection cycle for five years.

    Selection process

    The recipient will be selected by the Named Lectureship Task Force and presented to the Scientific Assembly Committee for approval at the planning meeting which is held in the Spring of the year prior to the presentation of the lecture. The Academy will announce its final decision in June of the following year.

    2019-2020 Named Lectureship Task Force
    Ilona J. Frieden, MD, FAAD, Chair
    Kim B. Yancey, MD, FAAD, Deputy Chair
    Jean L. Bolognia, MD, FAAD
    Kevin D. Cooper, MD, FAAD
    Lilit Garibyan, MD, PhD, FAAD
    Janet A. Fairley, MD, FAAD

  • Past recipients
    2019: Diane Thiboutot, MD
    2018: Alan D. Irvine,  MD  DSc
    2017: Joel M. Gelfand, MD, MSCE, FAAD
    2016: Gil Yosipovitch, MD, FAAD
    2015: George Cotsarelis, MD, FAAD
    2014: Anthony Eugene Oro, MD, PhD, FAAD
    2013: Hensin Tsao, MD, PhD, FAAD
    2012: Richard L. Gallo, MD, FAAD
    2011: Thomas S. Kupper, MD, FAAD
    2010: Andrzej A. Dlugosz, MD, FAAD
    2009: Kevin D. Cooper, MD
    2008: John A. McGrath, MD, FRCP
    2007: Kim B. Yancey, MD
    2006: Gary S. Wood, MD
    2005: Michael J. Detmar, MD
    2004: Paul Khavari, MD, PhD
    2003: Robert L. Modlin, MD
    2002: R. Rox Anderson, MD
    2000: Paul R. Bergstresser, MD
    1999: Barbara A. Gilchrest, MD
    1998: Ervin H. Epstein, MD
    1997: Wilma F. Bergfeld, MD
    1996: Luis A. Diaz, MD
    1995: Thomas J. Lawley, MD
    1994:  N/A
    1993: Jouni J. Uitto, MD
    1992: David Bickers, MD
    1991: Kirk D. Wuepper, MD
    1990: Thomas T. Provost, MD
  • Questions
    Contact Margaret Singer at or (847) 240-1676.