Professionalism Award

The Professionalism Award recognizes a medical professional or organization that has exemplified the highest standards of professionalism and medical ethics over their career or a considerable period of time. Recipients will receive recognition and a commemorative plaque at the AAD's Annual Meeting.

Applications are accepted throughout the year.


  • Criteria

    Must meet one or more of the following criteria:

    1. Embody and demonstrate the highest values of the medical profession through leadership and service to the medical community.
    2. Through both actions and support of others, work to advance the ethical practice of the medicine.
    3. Directly and through the support of colleagues, encourage altruistic and compassionate service to those who might not otherwise have received appropriate care.
    4. Advance the case for quality patient care despite the challenges and obstacles to implementation.
  • Selection process
    The AAD president will select the nomination from an individual or organization whose contributions have demonstrated the highest commitment to professionalism and medical ethics. The nomination will be approved by the Board of Directors. Since the award is only to be made from nominations of exceptional contributions to the cause of professionalism, it will not necessarily be awarded every year.
  • Past recipients

    Dr. Lionel Bercovitch
    Dr. Jane Grant-Kels