Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin and Phillp Frost Leadership Lecture

The Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin and Phillip Frost Leadership Lecture was created in 2007 through a generous contribution from Phillip Frost, MD, FAAD. This award recognizes innovation in the treatment of skin diseases and conditions.

Award: A cash award of $15,000 will be made in recognition of the recipient's achievements. Additionally, $10,000 will be provided and the recipient will have the honor of presenting a lecture during the Plenary session at the AAD Annual Meeting.

Criteria: The recipient should have made significant contributions toward an innovative therapy of the skin. The recipient is not required to be an AAD member nor a dermatologist.

Submit a nomination

  • About Drs. Van Scott and Frost

    About Eugene J. Van Scott, MD, FAAD

    Dr. Van Scott's distinction in dermatology is celebrated by more than 50 years of significant and noteworthy achievements.

    For more than 15 years, Dr. Van Scott served as the branch chief for Dermatology at NCI, where he influenced Dr. Frost so greatly that Frost chose to recognize him through this honored award. Dr. Frost comments, "Dr. Van Scott was one of my early mentors at the National Institutes of Health and I always respected him greatly as a man of creativity, integrity and hard work."

    Dr. Van Scott served on the Academy's Board of Directors twice and helped to form several other dermatological groups, including the National Psoriasis Foundation, the Dermatology Foundation, and the Foundation for lchthyosis and Related Skin Types. Dr. Van Scott was honored in 1972 with the prestigious Albert Lasker Clinical Medical Research Award for research in cancer chemotherapy.

    About Phillip Frost, MD, FAAD

    A generous gift to the American Academy of Dermatology by noted dermatologist Phillip Frost, MD, FAAD, has made possible the Eugene J. Van Scott Award for Innovative Therapy of the Skin and Phillip Frost Leadership Lecture.

    Throughout his career, Frost made his mark on the specialty in a number of ways. In 1972, Dr. Frost founded the dermatology department at Mt. Sinai Medical Center in Miami Beach, Fla., where he served as chairman for 18 years. At present, Dr. Frost is an Emeritus Clinical Professor of Dermatology at the University of Miami.

    Early on in his career, Dr. Frost was a clinical associate at the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It is there he met his lifelong mentor, Eugene J. Van Scott, MD, FAAD, who was the chief of the Dermatology Branch at the time.

  • Application timeline
    Nominations submitted on or before October 15 will be considered in the selection cycle for the current year. Nominations submitted after October 15 will be held for the following cycle. Nominations remain active in the selection cycle for three years.
  • Questions
    Contact Valerie Thompson at or (847) 240-1427.
  • Past recipients
    Read an interview with Drs. Van Scott and Frost.

    2019: Paul Nghiem, MD, PhD, FAAD
    2018: Jan Vilcek, MD, PhD
    2017: Christine Léauté-Labrèze, MD
    2016: Jeffrey A. Klein, MD, FAAD
    2015: James G. Krueger, MD, PhD, FAAD
    2014: Ervin H. Epstein, Jr., MD, FAAD
    2013: Jouni J. Uitto, MD, PhD, FAAD
    2012: Alastair Carruthers, MD, FAAD, and Jean D. A. Carruthers, MD
    2011: Anton Stuetz, PhD
    2010: R. Rox Anderson, MD, FAAD
    2009: John J. Voorhees, MD, FAAD
    2008: Douglas R. Lowy, MD, FAAD